Working in London

Salem alikom,

I am a French student and currently looking for a placement in the UK. I had a discussion with one of my teachers yesterday who told me that finding a placement will be really hard for me not only because of the economic crisis and because of the duration of the internship (6 weeks beginning in April 2009) but also because of my looks (I am quite tanned etc, you know i just look Moroccan). I would like to have your opinion on that.

I guess some of you work in London and what i really wish for is finding a work placement there. What my teacher told me quite discouraged me, I must say I had my baccalauréat and my DEUG with honours (French diploma given after 2 years in University) but she insisted on the fact that even if it really makes her angry too the fact is that my origin will probably prevail on my personnality/qualifications.

I decided to look for Moroccan companies in London too but the fact is that I can speak only "darija" so I don't know what should I do.

Any kind of advice, opinion or else would be very much appreciated!
;)

the best thing to do is go there and get rolled at the university cause two years is a bit not sufficient you gotta aim the bachelor at least then it will be ok for racism there is not any racism or just a bit you can neglect if you wanna go go ahead

Hello Elsam,
I don't really get your point ...The colour of your skin is not that important especially in UK.
You mustn't be negative of your future. If you are successfull in your studies you will get a job.
First of all : You need to write a CV and a good one.
You need to know what do you want to do.
It is difficult to advise you if you don't tell us which company you would like to work with ?
Don't hesitate to contact me

Good luck
abdelmajid
London

sboumy

Saadou